The scary state of safety…

I recently had a conversation with a good friend of mine that has yet to leave my mind. In our conversation, we discussed what it feels like to feel “safe”. Yes, to the world safety is something that we all want to feel. However, in Christianity do we want to fee safe? Although there is no better feeling than resting in the safe and loving arms of Jesus, the state of being “safe” in our faith walk is a scary road to walk. As Christians, we strive to get out from beneath the trials and struggles and find peace. Most of the time, those trials and struggles bring with them pain, heartache, depression and most often sadness. However, we are promised that if we walk through the trials with Jesus, our faith will be made stronger!

Most of us have heard the promise of strength as children in old country churches but do we really believe Him when he says we will be made stronger in times of hardship? I can honestly say that growing up I knew the promise was true but it was when I began to face the trials that I started to hold on to the promise.

the struggle

We know that in our faith walk, growth results from trials we face. So, without trials our faith remains stagnant and comfortable. Then why do we complain when the trials do come? Don’t get me wrong, struggles are tough but if we hold onto the promise that when we are weak He is strong then the struggle becomes lighter to carry! Jesus takes our fear and weakness and turns it into triumph!

Throughout the past year, I have developed a fear of stagnancy. For I know that when I am stagnant, my faith remains the same. My stagnancy produces unavailability for Jesus to use me. When I feel myself getting comfortable in my relationship with Christ I start digging in His word and searching Him out! Now I’m at the point where feeling uncomfortable is what I long for! For it is in my discomfort that I know He is moving, moving me out of my comfort zone and toward His side. God doesn’t call us to be Christians of comfort. To be used by Him, we have to get up out of our comfortable lazy-boy recliners and ask the Lord to make us feel uncomfortable!

It’s time for the Redeemed to take hold of our Word filled with promises and trek through the hardships of life. Often I think of my journey with Jesus like a long scenic hike. Throughout the hike there may be difficulties and tiresome portions of the hike itself but the end view from the top of the mountain is always worth the hike.

We need to worry less about feeling safe and more about feeling secure in His promises. They aren’t empty promises but promises that endure forever!

It’s time for us to look struggles in the face and say “Bring it on!”

Let the discomfort come and the comfort be torn away.

21 Praise be to the Lord,
for he showed me the wonders of his love
when I was in a city under siege.
22 In my alarm I said,
“I am cut off from your sight!”
Yet you heard my cry for mercy
when I called to you for help.

23 Love the Lord, all his faithful people!
The Lord preserves those who are true to him,
but the proud he pays back in full.
24 Be strong and take heart,
all you who hope in the Lord.

(Psalm 31: 21-24)

Leave a Reply

