What am I worth?

Worth: A word that encompasses many meanings but fails to be a word agreed upon.

When I think of worth, the first thing that comes to mind is money. But, as I am finding out worth and money are two completely different concepts. Worth varies in its definition but money is clearly defined. This can compare to our view of our worth and God’s view of our worth.

Image

I have been struggling the past few weeks with this concept. Due to past struggles, my mind jumps to why I am UN-worthy rather than worth of God’s love. God began to convict me immediately after my mind was filled with lies that I had created on my own. You see, my view of my own worth lies in what I have done or haven’t done; it is conditional. However, when God views my worth, He sees it as complete and indestructible. His view of my worth is unchanging where man’s view tends to be conditional. Christ established my worth on the cross despite my failures. So to Him, worth has no amount tied to it. It is simply highly valued regardless of my performance.

So in struggling with this, I have come to realize that when I begin to see my worth through the forgiving eyes of Jesus, I am made complete. I no longer have to worry about being worthy but see that to Him, I was worth His life. If you want to talk about the value of your worth, that is far greater than the concept of “value” itself. Christ chose this sacrifice willingly to allow us to visualize our worth in Him. It is through His sacrifice that we are made worthy.

God sees us not by our performance but in the belief that He is “worth” it all.

Christ does not call us to prove we are worthy but to accept our worth found only in Him.

Matthew 6:25-26

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?

You are more than “worth” it.

One thought on “What am I worth?

  1. Pingback: God’s View of Greatness | Inspirational Matters

Leave a Reply

