Watering Your Dreams

A good work.

God has been speaking to me this week through these three simple words. As I went through my devotions this week, this phrase continued to resonate with me. Throughout my current journey with Jesus, I am closing in on my God-sized dream of traveling to Uganda to see the Great Commission come to life, so to speak, in the lives of “the least of these”. As the date approaches, fear of what is ahead begins to consume my mind. Not so much a fear of the journey itself, but fear of what is to come after returning home. Almost a fear that God’s plan for me involving Uganda will be over once my journey home begins. However, as my fears began to creep up this week He began to whisper,

“I began the good work in you and I will complete it.”

So many times, we see a great dream and then once we capture the dream or at least the vision becomes reality, we begin to fear or become anxious with what is to come after our dream has been accomplished. However, if it is truly God’s dream rooted into our heart then why worry about what is to come? He will complete it!

As I walked with Christ this week, His whispers began to quiet my soul and speak truth into my spirit. You see, when I begin to see my dream come to life, it begins to feel as if my dream isn’t that big after all. But, my dream is not what has decreased in size, it is the vastness and greatness of my God that has made my dream seem much more of a reality. With God all things are possible, even for the biggest dreams imaginable!

never stop

 

When I began to dream, I used to fear that my dream would not become a reality for me. Now after seeing God transform my dream into something possible, I am looking forward to the next dream that he has planted within my heart that has yet to sprout up from within.

When I begin to envision my dream and in turn, surrender the dream over to God, it is amazing the amount of fruit that will grow from the seed of just one dream, watered with the Word of God. Because no dream is a God-sized dream without the water of the Word, the light of salvation and the breath of life that can only come from the whispers of a King.

So, a good work is much like a God-sized dream.

A dream much like a good work, takes time to produce and does not flourish a garden overnight. A dream/good work takes time to produce it’s intended purpose. And the Gardener (our Father) will be faithful to complete it in us! Not by anything we have done, but because of the all-consuming love God has for us, His children!

So then,

“being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 1:6

Be confident, not stepping back, not resisting the dream but stepping forward into the dreams and works that God has prepared in advance for us to do! (Ephesians 2:10)

Completion is His business.

He will plant the dream, it is our job to water it.

Leave a Reply

