Find Courage in Discouragement

At times when I feel discouraged, I often feel that God is distant but is He?

Can God , the God of the universe, the God of all, the God of my heart be distant?

The answer is found throughout Scripture.

“our ever-present help” – Psalm 46:1-3

He will “never leave you or forsake you” – Deuteronomy 31:6-8

He is “with you” – Isaiah 58:11

lion

So why then do we feel He is distant?

It is in the question of why that we find the true awe of the Gospel of Christ.

He is never distant but we create our own distance from Him.

We choose how close or how far away Jesus is from our grasp. We are the distance.

It is so easy sometimes to cry out to God and ask Him why when all the while He is asking us the same question and crying out to us,

“Why are you?”

In my moments of discouragement, God’s Word is the rest for my heavy heart. I have to choose to have the courage to stand in my discouragement. It’s so simple to say we’re waiting on God but what if He’s waiting on us? Waiting for us to say,

“I need You.”

“As a deer longs for streams of water, so I long for You, O God. I thirst for God, the living God. When can I go and stand before Him?” Psalm 42

Having the courage to stand, stand on God’s promises and His truth through the discouragement take a decision. It takes us saying yes to God and no to the negative thoughts clouding our focus.

Our problems are to be laid at Jesus’ feet and not dwelt upon.

Draw near to Him and He will draw near to you.

It’s time that we drop our discouragement and pick up the courage to stand.

Leave a Reply

