Quiet the World

Now, more than ever, I feel God speaking stillness into the depths of my heart. In every quiet time, in every study of the Word and in every promise given, I am reminded that He speaks in the stillness.

When my soul is quiet, there I find Him. (Psalm 62:5)

When I am weak and need His strength, He calls me to “come to Him” and He will give me rest. (Matthew 11:28)

When I feel that the next step is one of uncertainty, He says “Be still”. (Psalm 46:10)

When I feel that the chaos around me is closing in, He says “Meet me in the stillness”.

In everything, He calls me to just be still.

You see God speaks to our hearts when we are ready to hear what He has to say.

As long as our minds and souls are in an uproar, we cannot hear God’s still small voice.

Often we are so caught up in waiting for God to speak and we think that He must not want to speak to us.

The problem is, our own voice is so loud that God’s voice cannot be heard.

Only in the stillness, can we hear His still, small voice.

One story that comes to mind when I hear about calming or quieting our soul is the story of Moses and the Israelites in the wilderness. Just after God had rescued them from Pharaoh’s wrath, they were so quick to focus on their present situation that they forgot what God had rescued them from in the past. God spoke through Moses and told him to relay a message to the Israelites in Exodus 14:14,

“The Lord Himself will fight for you. Just stay calm.”

So often, we are just like the Israelites. We want to place our present situation at the forefront of our minds and think that nothing is worse than our current state. We quickly forget where God has brought us and the promises He has given us for the future ahead. We forget that this life is not ours to win. God has fought the battle for us on the cross and continues to fight for us each and every day in every situation we face. We are simply called to stay calm, focus on His promises, and be still.

Just as the Israelites were about to give up all hope and let their situation take over, God parted the Red Sea and, once again, rescued them. (Exodus 14: 15-31)

Give God your stillness and see Him part the Sea ahead of you.

For after all, it’s His plan and not our own.

Leave a Reply

