Come, See and Rest.

Lately, I have been drawn to the quietness of my room with nothing but me, my Bible and solitude.

What a beautiful scene it is to just sit and BE with God.

During the past month, I have been blessed with a large amount of time to just BE with my Lord.

I sometimes question what He is doing but I remind myself that it is not my place to question His sovereignty.

He knows what He is doing.

strength

That is a reminder that I need daily as I sit in His stillness and wait.

Recently, I discussed this very thing with a friend of mine. The patience in the waiting.

Satan can whisper in the waiting “You don’t need to be patient, you need to act, God isn’t doing anything, you need to do something.”

However, I have found that in the waiting  my strength is renewed, restored and rebuilt into a life of splendor.

Isaiah 55 discusses this very waiting throughout the entire chapter.

First, He draws us in by saying “Come to me”.

Next, He calls us to “see” the things He is doing all around us.

Then, throughout the rest of the chapter, He calls us to rest in His promise that His ways are not our ways.

Sometimes we get stuck between the seeing and the resting phase.

We see what is only the here and now and not how to rest in the fact that He is holding us.

I am understanding more and more that God is working all around me and if I just choose to rest, even when I feel uncomfortable in the resting….

He will open doors that I once saw closed.

He will speak words that were once just ink on a page.

He will bring to light the things that were once buried in my heart.

He will cause the waves of life around me to “be still and know” (Psalm 46:10).

When we choose through our circumstances to see Him, and not the pain, and rest even when it feels uncomfortable, He WILL.

Take hold of Isaiah 55 today and know that when we:

1. Come to Him.

2. Choose to see.

3. Rest in His sovereignty.

we begin to see our circumstances in light of who He is in the midst of them.

Then we will see in verses 12-13 that:

“You will live in joy and peace. The mountains and hills will burst into song, and the trees of the field will clap their hands! Where once there were thorns, cypress trees will grow.”

Come, see and rest in all that He is.

Leave a Reply

