Wear Your Joy

How often have we heard the phrase “wearing his/her heart on his/her sleeve”?

This is a phrase often implying that someone is emotional or as some would classify it, emotionally overbearing.

As a woman, often times women are associated more with this phrase than men, but that’s not to say that men are off the hook.

Growing up, I often heard this phrase and just assumed that with it, was an attached negative connotation.

However, after today I’m not so sure.

Being emotional can be overbearing at times but is showing your emotions really that terrible?

Society likes to associate emotional people as a group all to themselves but really, emotions, if used in the correct way, can be a way of positive and effective communication.

However, we can learn a thing or two about emotions from the Big Guy Upstairs.

Jesus showed his emotions but in a way that caused others to gravitate toward Him and not away from Him.

I think there’s a message in that somewhere…

Now back to the root of it all.

joy2

I wonder what would happen if instead of wearing our heart on our sleeve, we wore our joy on our sleeve?

This is a lesson that I needed to hear today and maybe you need to as well.

So often, we think that joy is just based on the set of circumstances thrown at us on a daily basis.

Our joy is so much bigger than the set of circumstances waiting for us when we wake up each the morning.

If you are anything like me, mornings are not my best of moments.

If I could wake up and instantly find a cup of coffee on my nightstand, I may get out of bed fairly cheerful.

However, on most days before my feet hit the floor I have already grumbled about something and most of the time, it is because I had to wake up. (Had to?…)

The good thing is, Jesus meets me where I am each and every morning.

He meets me in my bed, before I place my feet on the floor and grab my cup of coffee.

I have learned that mornings are not meant to grumble but instead should be used to turn my grumbling into joy.

What if I woke up with joy on my sleeve every morning, thankful for the blessing of waking up to a new day?

What if I woke up every morning with Jesus on my mind and joy on my sleeve?

If I am honest, most mornings this “what if” remains a what if.

But that is the great thing about Jesus.

He loves me despite hearing my grumbles in the morning.

He loves me for me.

In talking with Him today, He begin to speak to my heart and let me in on a secret that I often overlook each and every morning.

“Your joy is readily available, on your sleeve”

“You choose joy”

What a simple task but a wonderful Truth.

“Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days.”

Psalm 90:14

What if we woke up each and every morning with God’s unfailing love on our mind and His joy on our sleeve?

Too often, like our emotions, we try to hide our joy.

If Christ is our joy, why hide it?

Just as Jesus spoke to me today, I am speaking to you now.

To you who, much like me, wake up with grumbling on your mind instead of grace.

I challenge you, as I am challenging myself, to choose joy and place it on your sleeve for all to see.

Allow Christ’s unspeakable joy to be something for people to speak to you about.

Each morning, before placing our feet on the floor, let’s choose to wear our Joy.

Let’s wear our joy on our sleeve.

Leave a Reply

