Truths for the Heart

If I’m honest, low self-confidence is the thorn in my flesh.

No matter the day, the hour or the circumstance, low self-confidence is my battle.

It’s amazing to me how the devil can prowl around and place issues in my heart on a daily basis that cause me to struggle with who God has made me to be.

Just one slight glance by a passer-by.

A breakout on the absolute worst day (when is it ever a good day?).

Another day without exercise and another day feeling a pound heavier than the day before.

A day when my emotions get the best of me.

These are all simple, broken examples of what the devil uses to taint my self-confidence.

On these days, my heart needs to be reminded of who it is, what it is made for and for whom it is made for.

tumblr flower

1. Heart, who are you?

In this first truth, I need to determine who I am in Christ and not who I am on my own.

Whoever I think I am, God says I’m more.

Whoever the world says that I am, God says I am more.

“For you formed my inward parts;
    you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.[a]
Wonderful are your works;
    my soul knows it very well.
 My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
    intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
 Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
    the days that were formed for me,
    when as yet there was none of them.”

Psalm 139:13-16

I am a creation, a masterpiece and my heart is a beautiful sight in the eyes of the Lord.

Heart, you are fearfully and wonderfully made, believe it!

2. Heart, what are you made for?

Purpose.

This is the word God spoke to my heart after typing the second question of my heart.

He created my heart for purpose.

He has plans

He has dreams

He has hopes

For my fragile heart.

“And the Lord will guide you continually

and satisfy your desire in scorched places

and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden,

like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail.”

Isaiah 58:11

When I feel that I am living a life less than what He has called me to, I remember,

He will guide

He will satisfy

He will strengthen

He will not fail.

Heart, I am made for the purpose of the building of God’s Kingdom so be led, satisfied, strengthened and walk forward in your calling.

3. Heart, who are you made for?

Have you ever had one of those days where your pile of mistakes seem much larger than your victories?

On these days I need to ask myself, who is leading the way today?

Is it me or is it my Creator?

If my day is God led, everyday should reflect the one who intricately designed this heart of mine.

However, some days I led my own heart.

Usually with anything that has been created, the Creator is the one who knows how to perfectly orchestrate the creation.

Sometimes I fail to allow the Creator of my heart to lead and guide my heart when He is the one who can perfectly speak

Truth

Love

Hope

and Strength in the most magnificent ways.

“For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works,

which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

Ephesians 2:10

Heart, you were made by your Creator and for your Creator so make the most of His masterpiece.

Let me just say that as I write this, I am amazed at the truths God is speaking to my heart.

So as I speak these words to my thirsty heart, allow Him to speak to yours.

Take confidence in the One who is confident in you.

Leave a Reply

